Driving test update 


Driving test waiting list

If you are already on the driving test waiting list, please do not log in to MyRoadSafety to check for availability. Appointment slots are limited to those who have been invited to book a driving test and we will contact you directly when appointments become available.


If you have received an invitation to book a test, need to cancel a test, or wish to join the waiting list, please go ahead and sign in to MyRoadSafety now. For anyone else, we kindly ask you to visit another time when our portal is not so busy. Thank you for your patience at this time 


We can only offer test appointments to essential workers

If you are an essential worker and haven’t already received a test appointment but need one urgently please complete this online form. We will contact you when appointments become available.

If you are not an essential worker and have an upcoming appointment scheduled, please cancel your test. Otherwise, it won’t go ahead and the slot will be lost. Don’t worry, you won’t lose your fee. It will be saved as a service credit for you to book another test in the future.


Covid-19 safety measures

We have introduced new safety measures to the driving test which candidates must follow. Know more


Weather disruptions

Check if your driving test is affected by adverse weather conditions. Tests will be cancelled if conditions are unsafe.

EC Whole Vehicle Type Approval (ECWVTA) and National Approval of Motor Vehicles

Type approval helps remove barriers to trade for manufacturers and ensures that new vehicles are manufactured to prescribed safety and environmental standards.

Consultation on the Motor Type Approval Regulation (EU) 2018/858 (closed)

Update on Consultation on 1 September 2020


Thank you for your contributions to the Consultation on the Motor Vehicle Type Approval Regulation (EU) 2018/858. 


The consultation is now closed.  The Road Safety Authority greatly appreciates your feedback, which we have considered and incorporated where possible in the statutory instrument (regulations).


A copy of the statutory instrument will be available for viewing at this location shortly.


National Type Approval Schemes: Introduction of EURO VI Emission Standards for Heavy Commercial Vehicles (HCV)

Introduction of Euro VI emissions standards for nationally approved heavy commercial vehicles.

Heavy Commercial Vehicles (Goods vehicles with EU classification N2 & N3 and Passenger Vehicles with EU classification M2 & M3).

The Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, has signed regulations, which introduce Euro VI emission limits for all nationally type approved heavy commercial vehicles (HCVs).  National type approval schemes in Ireland include the National Small Series Type Approval scheme (NSSTA) and Individual Vehicle Approval scheme (IVA).

The Regulations give effect to the Minister’s (previously communicated) decision to provide a two-stage implementation timeframe for the introduction of Euro VI standards for nationally type approved HCVs as follows;

  1. From 1 July 2017 onwards it will only be possible for manufacturers to issue an incomplete or a complete Certificate of Conformity (CoC) on NSSTA for a HCV that is Euro VI compliant. Furthermore, the NSAI will only issue incomplete IVA Certificates for HCVs that are Euro VI compliant after this date.
  2. From 1 January 2018 onwards it will only possible for a manufacturer to issue a completed CoC on NSSTAs that are Euro VI compliant. Furthermore, the NSAI will only grant IVA Certificates for HCVs that are Euro VI compliant after this date.

In addition to the new Euro VI requirements, the 2017 regulations also include provisions that take account of recent advances in vehicle safety, and in particular concerning standards for hydrogen fuelled vehicles, electric vehicles, Advanced Emergency Braking Systems (AEBS) and Lane Departure Warning Systems (LDWS).

For more information on this, please download our information note (PDF) .


The  Framework Directive (2007/46/EC) (PDF) was negotiated over several years and extended the scope of type approval (at various implementation dates) from passenger cars to include all other motor vehicle categories including:
• vans
• minibuses
• buses
• coaches
• heavy goods vehicles
• caravans
• light and heavy trailers
• horseboxes

Since October 29th 2014, all new vehicles (including trailers but excluding agricultural vehicles) require type approval certification in order to be sold or registered in Ireland or any EU Member State.

A stakeholder information note is available to down load from here (PDF).

Please see our vehicle categories section for EU definitions of the various vehicle categories. Further information on obtaining type approval is available in our obtaining type approval section

Currently all new passenger cars are required to have type approval in the form of either ECWVTA, NSSTA (National Small Series Type Approval) or IVA (Individual Vehicle Approval) in order to be registered in Ireland.
Companies or individuals involved in the manufacture or registration of new passenger cars are required to have an EC or NSSTA Certificate of Conformity (CoC) or an IVA certificate for each new vehicle presented for registration.

You can view a legislative guide which provides an overview of the current type approval and entry into service legislation which is applicable 


Further Information

Queries with regard to type approval and entry into service legislation can be sent to [email protected] or alternatively telephone 096 - 25040/25014 

The NSAI (National Standards Authority of Ireland) is Ireland’s approval authority and are responsible for issuing all national approvals (IVA or NSSTA) for vehicles in Ireland. For more information on making an application for approval, please visit or phone 01‐8073919 or 01‐8073832.”